Congratulations to the 2nd Annual Yeo Prize Winners

The 2nd annual Yeo Writing Prize, an award given by the Eakins Writers’ Council, highlights Jeffersonians who wrote impactful, personal, and therapeutic pieces on gun violence.

After careful review of all the entries by the Prize Judging panel, comprised of 11 members across the Jefferson Health Enterprise, the Eakins Writers’ Council announced the following winners:

First place:  “It Was Only One Bullet…” by Mark Chilutti, Asst VP Development

Second place (tie):  “Your Last Shot”  by Keyur Patel, General Surgery Resident

Second place (tie): “One Surgeon’s Story of Gun Violence” by Adam Frank, Surgeon, Dept of Surgery

Third place:  “One Lucky Day” by Margaret Kreher, Palliative Care Physician, Dept of Family and Community Medicine

Honorable mentions:

Abdul Waris Kazi, Internal Medicine Resident 
Christopher Drumm, Family Medicine Physician (Norristown)
Nancy Dinh, Work Study Student
Xiao Chi Zhang, Emergency Medicine Physician
Lyena Birkenstock, MD/MPH student 

There will be a reception featuring the readings from the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winners on Thursday, November 17, from 5:30-7pm in the Eakins Lounge at Jefferson Alumni Hall at 10th and Locust on the Center City Campus. The keynote speaker will be Laura Madeline, Executive Director and Curator of Souls Shot Portrait Project.  This project links fine artists with families or friends of victims of gun violence.  Souls Shot’s goal is “to present diverse works that in some way relay graphically, or through narrative, the essence of the person being portrayed.”  Please save the date for this special event. 

The Writers’ Council and Judging Panel were moved by all the entries, many of which were deeply impactful, raw, chilling, and even inspiring. 

Also, it is not too late to submit a piece of writing for consideration for publication in the next issue of Evanescent

Read guidelines and submit at: